Here’s how to uninstall Windows 11 and downgrade to Windows 10

After upgrading to Windows 11 from Windows 10, it is still possible to Roll back to the previous version of the operating system without losing your files for example if the new version causes problems or you are not ready to take the plunge.

The process is possible via the restore settings. The only limitation is that the option is only available for the first ten days after the initial upgrade. After this period, Windows 11 will delete the files from the previous installation to make space on the hard drive for more important files.

It’s also worth noting that after uninstalling Windows 11 from your PC, you may need to reinstall some apps and you may lose some settings that you configured in the newer operating system.

This guide will show you how to return to Windows 10 after upgrading to Windows 11. (See also this Video tutorial with instructions on how to complete this task on the Pureinfotech YouTube channel.)

Roll back to Windows 10 after upgrading to Windows 11

To uninstall Windows 11 and roll back to Windows 10:

  1. Open minded begin under Windows11.

  2. Search for settings and click on the top result to open the app.

  3. Click on system.

  4. Press the recreation Page on the right.

  5. In the Recovery Options section, click the Go back Button.

    Restore back option

  6. Choose the reason for uninstalling Windows 11.

  7. Press the Next Button.

    Reasons for uninstalling

  8. Press the No thank you Button.

    Check for updates
    Check for updates

  9. Press the Next Button.

    Go back to Windows 10 Info
    Go back to Windows 10 Info

  10. Press the Next Button again.

    Account password information
    Account password information

  11. Press the Go back to the Windows 10 key.

    Uninstall Windows 11 to upgrade to 10.  to return
    Uninstall Windows 11 to upgrade to 10. to return

Once you complete the steps, Windows 11 will be removed, the system will be reset to Windows 10, your files and most of your settings and apps will remain.

If the recovery option is the “This option is no longer available on this PC” Message, you can still downgrade to Windows 10. However, the only way to do this is to back up your files and a clean install of Windows 10, and restore the files from the backup.